Join us on the 5th or 6th of September for one of our online meetups. Our special guests are Karolina Sarek and Lewis Bollard from the EA Animal Welfare Fund.

Americas/Oceania

Saturday, 5 September: 4pm PDT / 7pm EDT

Sunday, 6 September: 9am AEST / 11am NZST

Register

Europe/Asia

Sunday, 6 September: 10:30am BST / 11:30am CEST / 3pm IST / 5:30pm SGT / 7:30pm AEST

Register

About EA Funds: Animal Welfare Fund

The Animal Welfare Fund aims to effectively improve the well-being of nonhuman animals, by making grants that focus on one or more of the following:

  • Relatively neglected geographic regions or groups of animals
  • Promising research into animal advocacy or animal well-being
  • Activities that could make it easier to help animals in the future
  • Otherwise best-in-class opportunities

About Lewis Bollard

Lewis Bollard is the Program Officer responsible for Farm Animal Welfare at the Open Philanthropy Project and a Fund Manager at the EA Animal Welfare Fund.

Before joining the Open Philanthropy Project, he worked as Policy Advisor & International Liaison to the CEO at The Humane Society of the United States (HSUS). Prior to that, he was a litigation fellow at HSUS, a law student, and an associate consultant at Bain & Company. He has a B.A. from Harvard University in Social Studies and a JD from Yale Law School.

About Karolina Sarek

Karolina is co-founder and Director of Research at Charity Entrepreneurship and a Fund Manager at the EA Animal Welfare Fund. She also serves as a board member and consultant for various EA nonprofits.

Before Charity Entrepreneurship, she co-founded an organization to improve the impact of nonprofits and social enterprises; worked on measurement and evaluation; and was a researcher for IBM and the Jagiellonian University (JU). At the age of 22, she became a university teaching fellow, lecturing at JU’s Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science.

Event Schedule

  • T-30: New members welcome event (30 minutes before event starts)
  • T+00: Main meetup begins
  • T+05: Icebreaker #1
  • T+10: Icebreaker #2
  • T+15: Short talk
  • T+25: 1:1 Discussion question
  • T+30: AMA with speaker
  • T+50: Small group discussions
  • T+60: Official Close (main room remains open for people who want to chat)